brake conversion

Discussion of NON STOCK, NON OEM swaps, upgrades, lowering, modifications, modifying, customizing, anything Lincoln Mark VII.

Re: brake conversion

Postby gadget73 » Wed Mar 24, 2010 4:40 pm

Whats wrong with the existing ABS system? Most of the time, if you're on a budget its cheaper to fix whats there than to change it to something else.
86 Lincoln Town Car, HO swap, big brakes, lots of other stuff
91 LSC SE, triple black, United Exhaust 2.25" exhaust system, ES poly front bushings
gadget73

Postby gadget73 » Thu Mar 25, 2010 7:46 pm

dbltap64 wrote:no grinding or screeching, just way too hard to push the pedal down to get it to stop. It's like the master cylinder is out. I was told by the mechanic that the ABS, booster and master cyclinder are all one unit and it's a very expensive fix. I'm new to this Mark VII thing so I'm unsure of what my options are. I thought I had read something about converting over to mustang parts and doing away with the ABS. Mustangs are a dime a dozen in our salvage yards so I thought that might be one way to go. Just looking for advice, thanks.

It may be as simple as replacing the relay. Yes, its all one unit, but its an electric motor that provides assist. When the relay fails (and it happens), you get no power to the pump, therefore no rear brakes and no assist. I believe the relay in question is the one closest to the ABS unit, mounted to the firewall. Relay is like 20 bucks or something, and certainly worth a shot before changing anything else.